Slide Show Pict
Lead Safe Rules Effective April 22, 2010 Print
Effective April 22nd, new lead safe rules apply to renovations, repairs and painting, performed for compensation, on residential properties built before 1978 or facilities regularly occupied by children. The new rules require renovation, repair and painting contractors to be certified and to use specific lead safe work practices to minimize the generation of lead paint dust.

The new rules apply when the renovation, repairs and/or painting:

  1. Disturbs more than 6 square feet of an interior painted surface OR
  2. Disturbs more than 20 square feet of an exterior painted surface OR
  3. Replaces any windows or performs any demolition.

Failure to comply with the new lead safe rules, beginning April 22nd, could result in penalties of up to $37,500 per day per violation.

ALL REALTORS should become familiar with the new lead safe rules – whether you own or manage rental property – buy and renovate property for resale – or make contractor recommendations for your buyers and sellers.

Detailed information – including exemptions – is available at the EPA's website.

NAR has prepared 4 brief educational videos:

 

 

 
 
Upcoming Events
New Member Orientation
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 (8:30 am)

A Local View on Using Social Media
Tuesday, April 02, 2019 (10:00 am)

Get REal! Summit
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 (9:00 am)

Agency and Contracts Class
Thursday, April 11, 2019 (1:30 pm)

Fair Housing Class
Friday, April 12, 2019 (9:00 am)

RVAR Office Closed
Friday, April 19, 2019 (All Day)

Making Manufactured or Modular an Option
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 (10:00 am)

GRI 506 - Managing Risk
Thursday, April 25, 2019 (All Day)

REALTOR® After Hours at the Lake
Thursday, April 25, 2019 (5:00 pm)

Community Service Day - Renovation Alliance
Saturday, April 27, 2019 (8:00 am)

Tech Committee - Lunch & Learn - Apps
Tuesday, May 07, 2019 (11:30 am)

Evaluating Rental Properties
Friday, May 10, 2019 (8:30 am)

RVAR's Lake Golf Tournament
Monday, May 13, 2019 (11:00 am)

Radon in VA Real Estate
Wednesday, May 15, 2019 (9:00 am)

Economic Update
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 (8:45 am)

GRI 505 - Working with Sellers
Wednesday, May 22, 2019 (All Day)

5 O'clock Hops
Thursday, May 23, 2019 (5:00 pm)

RVAR Office Closed
Monday, May 27, 2019 (All Day)

Archives of RVAR Publications

RVAR eNewsletters

Inman News Headlines
Six Most Recent Articles